I know it’s been a couple of months since my last post, don’t give me that judgy eye. As if you are so consistent with EVERYRHING you do. By the way, happy new year to you all!
Here’s the update:

  1. Managed to stay under 299999 kilo’s in spite of the holidays.
  2. Actually went without chocolate for 3 days in.a.row. 
  3. Consciously deposited two bottles of water to be recycled, last year.
  4. Moved to another country again.
  5. Closed my first big deal for my new start-up.
  6. One of my businesses is officially 6 months old and is in the top 5% of most visited webshops in its category in Europe and the USA.
  7. Major milestone: little one is still alive and well, surviving my winging-it style of parenting AND will be six months old in a few days.
  8. Last but not least. I managed to take care of myself just about enough to see another year. Though that was probably not all me. I think God had more to do with that actually.

But here is what’s really going on. I seem to be losing my superpowers. Slowly but surely. The other day I took a two hour ‘nap’ with my little one when I was supposed to be doing market research for my start-up. This all while her laundry was still in the washing machine (yeah I had to run them back in there again). Not to forget the groceries that needed to be done for the rest of the week. Thing is, my baby is staying awake much longer now. So instead of having to breastfeed and change, sooth to sleep and repeat. I now spend my days keeping her amused because now every waking time is play time. Plus, she’s still exclusively breastfeeding.

And yes she is learning how to play by herself with all the gear I got her. But I can’t help but watch her while she plays. Jumping in to play with her. And when I do get behind my laptop to actually get to work, I feel guilty for working while she’s awake. I’ve tried the whole working when she sleeps (since sleeping when she sleeps would mean the end of my businesses). But that’s the time when cleaning needs to be done, and laundry, and cooking, and eating, and my almost forgotten shower. 

I think it’s fair to say that the newborn stage actually gave me more time to work than I realized. Even though I had to stop working a whole lot of times and spent hours soothing her to sleep. Once she was sleeping I knew I could get some work done.Now her naps are really more of a 30 to 45 minute break that I use to feed myself. One thing that hasn’t changed though, I still don’t go to bed before 4am. And I still get up at 6am to start all over again. Maybe those naps we take together aren’t that bad after all. 

Besides, who said superwoman doesn’t nap?